I apologize for not posting last night. By the time I was done with my day I was exhausted and could not even think straight. I think I picked a tough week to start this whole lifestyle change thing. The kids are on Spring Break! It is not a huge deal, but it has been raining all week, so they have been stuck inside. I have been a little bit sore and cranky. The combination of me being cranky and 5 kids in the house all day, is not an ideal situation! But it is ok. I will get through it and all will be great! :)
I want to thank everyone who has stopped by and especially for your words of support. It really does make a difference! This morning, I really did not want to get up at 5:00am. I was so sound asleep and comfortable. When the alarm went off I considered just going back to sleep. But then I thought about the fact that I would have admit on here that I got lazy after only three days! So, I got my self out of bed and went for it! So, thank you for your support!
My food log for yesterday was as follows:
*Access bar
*8 oz proflex protein shake with 4 frozen strawberries and 1 scoop of fiberwise high fiber drink. This tasted kinda nasty, I think it was the fact that it was chocolate, strawberries and peach flavored fiberwise. I will try different combinations and may just end up drinking the shake plain because it is VERY yummy plain!
*3/4 cup brown rice with 1 cup shredded chicken cooked in carne asada sauce
*2 small hand fulls of roasted almonds
*1 apple
*4 oz chicken breast grilled with BBQ sauce
*6 asparagus and 1 tbs. of mayo made with Olive oil (much less fat)
*1/2 cup spinach with balsamic vinegar
*1 cup rice pilaf (this is a family favorite, but I changed up the recipe to make it more healthy. Normally you saute a package of vermicelli in 1/4 c. butter and white rice, mushrooms and a strong chicken broth and then simmer, last night I used whole wheat thin spaghetti, sauteed it in 1 tbs olive oil, used brown rice and fat free, low sodium chicken broth. It was okay, but next time I will make a stronger broth, it needed a bit more flavor.
My mom called yesterday and read me an article about a study that was done recently where they had 2 different groups of people. One group ate 1/2 of a grapefruit before each meal. the other group ate the same exact meal, but the group that included the grapefruit lost substantially more weight. I am going to give it a try. I will be going to buy grapefruit today! :)
Wednesday, March 10, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Michelle I think it's great that you are doing this! It is a good idea to blog it; that would make me get out of bed too:) Keep it up-you can do it!
ReplyDeleteDon't buy grapefruit, just come get some! Seriously, you can have as much as you want. And I tell you, it has totally worked for me. Whenever I get serious and start eating grapefruit, the weight comes off. Plus right now the fruit straight off the trees is sooo sweet.
ReplyDeleteI love the grapefruit cups at Costco...I know they cost a lot more but they are so easy...I know that makes me sound lazy, but at least I get my grapefruit:)
ReplyDeleteI want to send you something...send me your address via email :)
littlebitoflove76@gmail.com
Rochelle,
ReplyDeleteI didn't see your comment until just now, and I just bought a bag of grapefruit this afternoon. But I am sure I will be through it really quickly. I for sure will take you up on your offer! :) Thanks!